Rapturama

A group of people, at various points and of various persuasions on this planet are always predicting that the world is going to end… “Soon.” Is this the first instance of fear based control? If it is, I kind of don’t understand it.

The world ending is a catastrophic event and it means that everything we know will be gone. Now if you are talking about a portion of the population disappearing magically or suddenly dying, this isn’t the end of the world. It’s pretty scary and can cause anxiety, but life on this planet, and quite possibly your life will continue.

You see, the end of the world doesn’t scare me. What scares me more is that one day it may be possible that one of these, ‘end of the world’ fanatics will actually have the power to try to bring about their lame prophecy and take out a lot of innocent people in the process.

Consider that there have already been instances where this kind of thing happens. Jones Town, Hale-Bopp, the Jehovah’s Witnesses; I really think they are up to no good. Sorry J.W. friends out there, but you know it’s true. On that note, why are there a lot of Jehovah’s Witnesses that end up turning gay?

I guess I wonder about a lot of things and that has led me to realize that there are contradictions in 99% of the world’s philosophies, especially those that are based on a deity lording over humanity or the universe. Inevitably the unraveling of believability occurs when you ask its constituents to explain some fundamental questions. The most important question I find myself considering is the following… I’ll devote a whole paragraph to appoint its significance. A bit of a cheat, it is a compound question.

How do you know what the word of God is, and can you prove that it is the word of God?

The answers I get aren’t very convincing. So, you’ll pardon me if I go out tomorrow and enjoy the fact that I have no idea when I’m going to die, and because of that, I’ll be the best human being I can be while trying not to harm others.

2 thoughts on “Rapturama

  1. Anyone who truly knows God knows that he speaks to us in symbols, not words, via the majesty of grilled cheese.

  2. Isn’t it sad that so many spend their precious moments of existence worrying about things like this? I will join you in doing my best to be good and not give another fuck to this silliness.

Leave a Reply

